• Menu
About The Camille Awards

Selection Process

How do we select our Nominees?

The selection process of the Camille Awards – European Film Composer Awards takes place in three stages:

  1. The nomination
    The ECSA FFACE Committee, representing twelve delegations from fifteen European organisations, is in charge of the nomination process. Each delegation nominates one composer per category.
  2. The pre-selection
    Delegates from these organisations then proceed to a first round of votes, reducing the number of nominees to three per category.
  3. The final Selection
    In the third and final phase, an international jury of renowned composers elects their favourite piece of work in each category.

The requirements per categories

  • Best Orchestral Score
    Any score recorded by art/classical/contemporary orchestra ensemble of classical instruments.
  • Best electro-acoustic score
    Any score which is predominantly realised by electronic and/or acoustic instruments or ensembles from outside the tradition of traditional orchestral instrumentation. Entries in this category may include music scored for and realised by an orchestra, but this must not comprise the majority of the overall score.
  • Best original music for a series
    Any score made for the use in an original European fictional series.

The Members of the ECSA FFACE Committee

ÖKB – Österreichischer Komponistenbund (Austria)
BSCG – Belgian Screen Composers’ Guild (Belgium)
BFM – Brancheklubben for Film- og Mediekomponister and DJBFA – Danske Jazz-, Beat- og Folkemusik Autorer (Denmark)
FMC – Finnish Music Creators’ Association (Finland)
UCMF – Union des Compositeurs de Musique de Film (France)
CC – Composers’ Club and DKV – Deutscher Komponistenverband (Germany)
TO METRON – Greek Association of Composers and Lyricists (Greece)
SCGI – Screen Composers Guild in Ireland (Ireland)
ACMF – Associazione Italiana Musica Per Film (Italy)
FLAC – Fédération Luxembourgeoise des Auteurs et Compositeurs (Luxembourg)
BCMM – Beroepsvereniging Componisten MultiMedia (The Netherlands)
NOPA – Norwegian Society of Composers & Lyricists (Norway)
Musimagen (Spain)
SKAP – Swedish Society of Songwriters, Composers & Authors (Sweden)
The Ivors Academy (United Kingdom)

Supportive Member: PICAM (United Kingdom)